About the Press

Computers and Composition Digital Press (CCDP) is committed to publishing innovative, multimodal digital books. We are particularly interested in digital projects that cannot be printed on paper, but that have the same intellectual heft as a book.

The goal of the Press is to honor the traditional academic values of rigorous peer review and intellectual excellence, but also to combine such work with a commitment to innovative digital scholarship and expression. For the Editors, the Press represents an important kind of scholarly activism—an effort to circulate the best work of digital media scholars in a timely fashion and on the global scale made possible by digital distribution.

A Brief History of the Press

Computers and Composition Digital Press was founded in 2007 by Gail E. Hawisher (University of Illinois) and Cynthia L. Selfe (Ohio State University).

For the first year of the Press, Danielle Nicole DeVoss (Michigan State University), Heidi A. McKee (Miami University), Jason Palmeri (Miami University), Dickie Selfe (Ohio State University), and H. Lewis Ulman (Ohio State University) served at various times as Editors during the process of developing and designing the online platform as well as recruiting scholarly ebooks and projects for publication in this new online venue.

In the fall of 2008, Computers and Composition Digital Press became an imprint of Utah State University Press. In 2016, Cynthia Selfe and Gail Hawisher, the founding executive editors of the press, turned over leadership to three members of the press’s second generation: Patrick Berry (Syracuse University), Melanie Yergeau (University of Michigan), and Tim Lockridge (Miami University). In 2020, Amber Buck (University of Alabama) joined the press’s senior leadership team.

We would like to thank the many institutions, organizations, and people who contributed to this initiative including members of the editorial board; Carolyn Gard, Aaron Garrett, Jeffrey Herbst, and Dave Wood at Miami University; Jody Croley Jone and Mitchell Shelton at Humanities Information Systems, College of Humanities, Ohio State University; Karl Stolley, Illinois Institute of Technology; Ashley Miller; Teresa Bertram and the students of The Center For Writing Studies, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.